When opening your Instagram account, you may think that you’re blocked by somebody based on an indication. But how to tell if someone removed you on Instagram?
Yes, there’s a difference between remove and block. By removing, that means that someone removes you from their followers’ list. The reason? It could be really personal to you and that person. Maybe there was a fight between you and them? Or did they simply not like the content you show on your feeds?
However, if someone removes you, that doesn’t mean you can access their profile. You can still watch their content, stories, or even highlights. Things don’t go well if someone blocks you. If you’re blocked, you have no access whatsoever to that person’s account.
Unfortunately, it’s not that easy to know whether someone removes or blocks you on Instagram. Since Instagram doesn’t have a notification for that, you have to know it by yourself. By doing these methods, hopefully, you may know the answer.
How to Tell If Someone Removed You on Instagram
Method 1: Searching Their Username
The first method to answer how to know if someone removed you from close friends is by searching their usernames. If you’re removed from their followers, you may see the clear sign by looking at their profile. To do that, follow the steps below:
- Login into your Instagram account.
- Look for the user you doubt.
- If there’s the Follow Back button, it means that they have removed you.
Method 2: Check Their Profile
Now, other than seeing the Follow Back button, you may easily identify someone who removes you by seeing their profile. If you’re unsure if someone has deactivated their account, you may find any comments that tag the person. When clicked, see whether the profile is up or not.
You may see on the profile the number of posts. If there’s a statement that says “No Posts Yet”, it means that you’re not only removed but blocked entirely by them.
Method 3: Check Your Following List
The next method as a solution to how to know if someone removed you from Instagram is by checking your following list. To do that, follow these steps:
- Open Instagram and log in using your credentials.
- Check your profile.
- Click The Following List.
- Tap the bar, and search for the person you doubt.
- If you notice “No Users Found”, it means they have removed you from their follower list.
Method 4: Check Their Follower’s List
You may also check their follower list if you’re in doubt. However, note that this method is only applicable to public accounts. If their accounts are private, there’s no way to do this.
- Visit the profile of someone you doubt.
- Select the Followers List.
- Search your own username
- You may notice the same sign that says “No Users Found”, which means you’re removed by them.
How to Know If Someone Removed You from Close Friends
Unfortunately, there’s no definitive solution to this problem. The thing is, you may only see that they include you as their close friends by noticing the green rings on their stories page. That means the stories are limited to only Close Friends, you included.
So, if you no longer see the green rings, it’s probably because they have removed you from their Close Friend list. You can always add or remove someone from your list by adjusting the stories option. But still, Instagram doesn’t give any notifications if someone adds or removes you from their Close Friend list.
1. What happens if someone removes you on Instagram?
When someone removes you from their follower list, you can’t find your username anymore on their list. When you search their name on the search bar, there will be the Follow Back button, indicating that you can always follow them back and be included once again on their follower list.
2. Why would someone remove me as a follower on Instagram?
There might be various reasons. First, they don’t like you anymore, maybe because of the content that you shared on feeds and stories. Second, it could be a misclick. Somehow, they removed you unintentionally and didn’t realize it at all.
3. How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram?
It’s easier to notice if someone blocked you. When seeing their profile, you can’t see any of their posts. It simply shows No Posts Yet.
4. What’s the difference between being removed and blocked on Instagram?
When you’re blocked, it means that you can’t access their profile at all. All the posts, stories, and highlights will be hidden from you. Meanwhile, when someone removes you, you can always follow them back and see their content again.
And that’s how to know if someone removed you from Instagram. You see, it’s not actually that big of a deal when someone removes you from Instagram. As long as you’re not blocked, you can always see their content back if you unfollow them again.