YouTube has become a way for individuals to learn more about various topics. While you want to share videos with other people, this might not always be possible due to its privacy settings. At times, you may see that the video is unlisted. Get to know what does unlisted mean on YouTube here.
What Does Unlisted Mean on YouTube?
An unlisted video on YouTube simply means that you cannot find this particular video on the search results page or the suggestions tab. This falls in between a private and public video since this video can still be viewed and shared by those who have the link, but this remains virtually invisible to others.
Besides this, an unlisted video can likewise be shared with friends, family, and other people with whom the link is shared to as well. While being treated as public videos in that these can be shared from one person to another, it does not appear on search results.
You can use an unlisted video in a number of ways. Read on to find out how you can use this to your advantage.
Testing a Video
If you’re still on the fence about what does an unlisted YouTube video mean, you should know that this allows you to road-test videos you want to release to the public in time. By sharing the unlisted video’s link, you can gauge how the audience will react before going public.
Cleaning Your YouTube Page
One of the most popular uses of unlisted videos is streamlining your YouTube page. You can still retain access to videos to have created in the past while removing their visibility on your channel’s homepage, especially to videos you no longer want just anyone seeing.
Read also: what does nfs mean on Instagram>>
What Does Private Mean on YouTube?
After wondering what does unlisted mean in YouTube, you might also be wondering just how different it is from a private video. In essence, a private video can only be seen by you and with other people you choose to share it with.
Private videos cannot be shared with other individuals without your permission. These will likewise not appear in search results or video recommendations.
What is the Difference Between Unlisted and Private?
To gain a deeper understanding of what does unlisted on YouTube mean, differentiating it from what private videos mean can make a world of difference.
- Unlisted videos can still have their links shared with other people. In contrast, private video links cannot be shared with other individuals who are not invited to view them.
- Unlisted videos remain invisible in search results, but you can still add the video in question to your YouTube channel. Private videos, on the other hand, cannot be added to the channel itself.
- Viewers who have the link can still leave comments on the unlisted video. Meanwhile, private videos do not allow comments to be made on them.
How to Make a YouTube Video Unlisted
If you’re interested in trying out the unlisted feature for yourself, below are the steps you have to follow. Take a look at how you can change the privacy settings.
- Go to your YouTube account and make sure you have logged into it.
- Tap on ‘Library’ and click on ‘Your videos.’
- On the video you want to change, click on ‘More’ and tap on ‘Edit.’
- Click on ‘Visibility,’ and choose the video setting you want. For this, choose the “unlisted” option.
- Tap on ‘Save’ to proceed.
Can I share an unlisted YouTube video?
Yes, you can share unlisted YouTube videos with others. Provided that you have shared the right link, others can view its contents.
What are the benefits of unlisted YouTube videos?
There are a number of benefits of making YouTube videos unlisted. For one, you can test your videos without making them available to the public just yet. This is perfect for gauging reactions from viewers. This can also allow you to share personal content and keep it private.
Who can see unlisted videos on YouTube?
Only those who have the link to the said video may see unlisted videos on YouTube. These unlisted videos will not show on your homepage’s Videos tab or the search results as well.
Now that you know what does unlisted mean YouTube, you now have a better grasp of what you can do with this feature as well. By learning how to unlist videos and how these work, you can also try this option out for yourself and make YouTube videos work to your advantage.